61

He would be 61 today
I would be walking side by side with him in the cold morning
with our running shoes on and our jacket intact up to the neck
He would tell me to keep up with him
as I slowly fade away to the beautiful scenery

He would have a new dream
I would listen and start to imagine what it would be like when these dreams come true
with my hopes held high and my mind start to dream the same thing
I would tell him that,
I would tell him that my dream is next to him
and he would laugh about it, at first
but I know he would be ecstatic

He would start to complain about his wrinkles
I would take a closer look and found none
and tell him that it was just his smile lines and his worries about nothing but his children and sweetheart
He would tell me not to make him smile no more
I know he would be smiling inside
all day long

He would say love over and over again
if I knew then, I would say love all over him
as if he knew that there couldn’t be enough time to say it much
if I knew then, I would give all my time to him
just to hear him say love
and love again

He would be 61 today
and I was and still am his proud little girl

1970-ish...

1970-ish…

– written for my Dad’s 61 birthday, 28 November 2013.

Leave a Reply

